The Arkansas Clean Air on Campus Act went into effect Sunday, Aug. 1, at 12:01 a.m. The Act prohibits smoking at all state-supported institutions of higher education in Arkansas.
Gov. Mike Beebe signed the "Clean Air on Campus Act of 2009" in April 2009, initiating a statewide smoking ban at public institutions of higher education. The effective date of the law was postponed for more than a year to allow college campuses time to educate students, employees and guests about the ban on smoking.
The college has presented a series of tobacco education lectures and workshops sponsored by the Pulaski Technical College Department of Counseling and Advising. The Arkansas Department of Health offers many programs to assist people who want to kick the habit. Faculty, staff and students are encouraged to take advantage of these resources.
The Act can be viewed online here.
"Campus" is defined as "all property, including buildings and grounds that are owned or operated by a state-supported institution of higher education." Smoking in vehicles on campus is also prohibited. Violators may face fines ranging from $100 to $500.
"Public safety is our number one responsibility," says PTC Director of Police and Public Safety Mark Stafford. "Looking for violators will not be our top priority, but officers are obligated to enforce the law. We can't tell smokers where to light up, but they can't do it here."