Pulaski Technical College


Current News | Archives

Pulaski Tech receives grant for course redesign

Pulaski Technical College is one of 20 colleges nationwide selected recently to participate in the Colleagues Committed to Redesign program sponsored by the National Center for Academic Transformation (NCAT) and the Fund for the Improvement of Post Secondary Education (FIPSE).

The project will assist the college in redesigning and improving its College Reading course, which prepares students for college-level coursework.

College Reading is one of three developmental reading courses Pulaski Technical College offers through its Education and Academic Success Division. For the spring 2007 semester, 557 students are enrolled in developmental reading courses.

As part of the grant, NCAT will send experienced course redesigners to the Pulaski Tech campus to consult with the college team. The grant also pays half the costs for a four-member team from Pulaski Tech to attend a disciplinary course redesign workshop on April 27, 2007, in Austin, Texas.

Pulaski Tech's team will then serve as presenters at next year's Redesign Alliance conference and receive full travel reimbursement.

"This will help us get a head start in redesigning our College Reading program," said Dr. Peggy Peterson, Title III director. "Our goal for this is to help faculty incorporate new approaches to learning to help students be successful in their academic pursuits."

Pulaski Technical College's team includes Purnell Henderson, vice president for instruction; Rashunda Johnson, dean of Education and Academic Success; Mark Burris, director of distance education; Betty Raper, chair of developmental reading; and Pat Pierce, instructor of developmental reading.

The Pulaski Technical College Foundation assisted with the grant application.

Other schools selected include the following:

Alamo Community Colleges; Boise State University; California State University, Northridge; Cosumnes River College, DePaul University; Hagerstown Community College; Harry S. Truman College; Houston Community College; Indiana State University; Indiana University of Pennsylvania; Lorain County Community College; Northern Illinois University; St. Cloud State University; Truman State University; University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; University of West Florida; Valencia Community College; and Winston-Salem State University.

Pulaski Technical College
3000 West Scenic Drive
North Little Rock, AR 72118
Phone: (501) 812-2200

Copyright 2017 Pulaski Technical College. All Rights Reserved.