Pulaski Technical College


Current News | Archives

New touring art exhibition debuts Sept. 5 at Pulaski Tech

Small Works on Paper: 2006-2011 Retrospective, a new touring exhibition sponsored by the Arkansas Arts Council, debuts at Pulaski Technical College on Sept. 5.
The exhibition will be in the college's Bank of the Ozarks Gallery in the Ottenheimer Library and will remain on display until Oct. 24. An opening public reception is scheduled for Sept. 27 at 1 p.m.

Gallery hours of operation are Monday through Thursday, 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m., Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 3 p.m., and Saturday 7:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. Admission is free.

Small Works on Paper: 2006-2011 Retrospective is a collection of 33 outstanding pieces of art by Arkansas artists that were previously featured in the annual Small Works on Paper exhibition between 2006 and 2011.
After making its debut at Pulaski Tech, the exhibit will travel to several colleges across Arkansas for the next two years:

  • College of the Ouachitas, Malvern
  • University of Arkansas Community College at Hope
  • Southern Arkansas University Technical College, Camden
  • Cossatot Community College, Ashdown, Nashville and DeQueen
  • National Park Community College, Hot Springs
  • Phillips Community College, Helena
  • East Arkansas Community College, Forrest City
  • University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville
  • Mid-South Community College, West Memphis

The Small Works on Paper exhibition was created in the late 1980s to showcase small works of art (no larger than 24 x 24 inches) by Arkansas artists who are members of the Arkansas Artist Registry, an online art gallery coordinated by the Arts Council. The exhibition travels to all areas of the state and benefits rural communities that often lack access to galleries and museums. For a full schedule and dates, visit www.arkansasarts.org.

About the Arkansas Arts Council
The Arkansas Arts Council was established in 1966 to enable the state of Arkansas to receive funds from the National Endowment for the Arts. In 1971, Act 359 (A.C.A. ? 13-8-101 et seq.) gave independent agency status to the Arts Council, with an executive director and a 17-member council appointed by the governor. In 1975, the Arts Council became an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage.

As an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, the Arkansas Arts Council shares the goals of all its agencies, of preserving and enhancing the heritage of the state of Arkansas. The other agencies are: Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, Historic Arkansas Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and the Old State House Museum. Funding for the Arkansas Arts Council and its programs is provided by the state of Arkansas and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Pulaski Technical College
3000 West Scenic Drive
North Little Rock, AR 72118
Phone: (501) 812-2200

Copyright 2017 Pulaski Technical College. All Rights Reserved.