Pulaski Technical College


Current News | Archives

Margaret Ellibee selected for college presidency

Dr. Margaret A. Ellibee

The Pulaski Technical College Board of Trustees has selected Dr. Margaret A. Ellibee to serve as college president.

The announcement was made today following a vote by the board of trustees. Dr. Ellibee verbally accepted the position. No start date has been agreed upon.  Dr. Michael DeLong, the college's executive vice president and provost, will serve as interim president until Dr. Ellibee starts her new position.

"Pulaski Tech is a leader in higher education, and we are confident that Dr. Ellibee will provide the leadership and vision the college needs to meet the needs of the community we serve," said Board of Trustees Chairman John Suskie. "Her career experience demonstrates exactly the expertise that this institution requires to move forward in the areas of student success and workforce development."

Dr. Ellibee has served as vice president for strategic effectiveness and advancement at Waukesha County Technical College in Wisconsin since 2007. Previously, she served as state director for career and technical education with the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction and coordinator for innovative programming and research at the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education.

"I look forward to working with the outstanding faculty and staff of Pulaski Technical College," Dr. Ellibee said. "Pulaski Tech is committed to a tradition of excellence and dedication to student success, and we will continue bold steps in those areas in the future. We are here to serve our students, businesses and industry, and our communities."

Dr. Ellibee received a Doctor of Philosophy in educational administration from the University of Wisconsin in 1995. She received a Master of Science in general agriculture from the University of Arkansas in 1988 and a Bachelor of Science in agricultural education from Iowa State University in 1983. She taught vocational agriculture at Stuttgart High School from 1983 to 1986.

Dr. Ellibee will be the fourth president in Pulaski Tech's history. She replaces Dr. Dan F. Bakke, who retires June 30 after 12 years at the helm of the state's largest two-year college.

"I want to express our appreciation to the presidential search committee, which was reflective of the college, the community and the industries we serve," Chairman Suskie said. "The finalists came to us with outstanding recommendations from the committee, and we are grateful for the committee's input and involvement."

Members of the search committee included college trustee MaryJane Rebick of Copy Systems, search committee co-chair; Pulaski Technical College Foundation Board of Directors member Lyndell Lay of Lay Commercial Mortgage, search committee co-chair; Jon Harrison, VIP2; Dr. Judy Pile, Baptist Health Schools Little Rock; Frank Scott, First Security Bank; Charles Stewart, formerly with Heifer International and Regions Financial Corporation; Brian Taylor, student representative; Denise Hammett, instructor of mathematics; Mayo Johnson, instructor of computer information systems; Joe McAfee, instructor of electronics technology; Terry Mercing, instructor of accounting; Amanda Doyle, coordinator of advising and orientation; Dr. Pam Cicirello, dean of allied health and human services; Beth Trafford, dean of enrollment management; and Mary Ann Shope, interim vice president for learning/vice president for economic development.

Pulaski Technical College
3000 West Scenic Drive
North Little Rock, AR 72118
Phone: (501) 812-2200

Copyright 2017 Pulaski Technical College. All Rights Reserved.